And Then She Was Off!

It is the day before my study abroad excitement, and honestly, it doesn’t feel like I’m going to be traveling halfway around the world in a matter of hours. Today, I spent the day traipsing through Lauritzen Gardens with my family and eating nachos in middle-of-nowhere Nebraska. I feel like I’ve simply been on an extended break, but instead of having to get back to reality, I’m just going to be moving further away from it.

I’m proud to say that I have managed to pack the next four months of my life into one suitcase and one carry on. I’m also proud to say that I was able to make room for a bag of jelly beans and a couple candy bars, a.k.a. the important stuff. Tomorrow I will arrive at the airport at 5 a.m. to catch my flight at 7:50. I will fly from Omaha to San Francisco, and then brace myself for an eleven hour flight to Osaka, my future home away from home. If all goes as planned, I will land in Osaka on Thursday at about 3 p.m.

I’m not entirely sure what will happen once I land. I know university staff members will be waiting for me to shuffle me into a taxi that will take me to a hotel. The next several days will consist of orientation — moving into my dorm, picking my classes, and learning the ins and outs of college life in Japan. Finally, I’ll get to finish up orientation with a bit of sightseeing during a field trip at a mystery location.

I’m going to miss my home so much. I think there’s things I will miss that I never in a million years thought I would. However, I’m feeling so thankful for the many people in my life who have been so excited for me. It has definitely made this whole journey easier.

The next time you hear from me I will be in Japan and well on my way to starting classes.

Until then,

じゃあね、See you!

Madi

 

 

Leave a comment